Interview with Forgiving Trinity’s Aidan and Giveaway

What’s a YA novel without a good romance? Even though the budding relationship between Trinity and Aidan is not the focus of Liz Reinhardt’s Forgiving Trinity, it is still an integral part of the story. Aidan gives Trinity a lot of the support she needs to move on from her past and is a nice change from the typical bad-boy-who-reforms-for-his-new-love that we commonly find sweeping our heroines off their feet. Here’s a little chance to get to know him better.

What was running through your mind the first time you saw Trinity again?

Once I knew she was alright, I was just trying hard not to laugh. She’s always been kind of goofy, so I can’t say I was surprised to see her sprawled all over the ground. But I was pretty shocked it was because she was trying to spy on me. And, I can’t lie, it was pretty flattering. I’d been thinking about giving her a call all week, and then there she was, busted through a crate under my window.

What was the hardest part of returning home from juvy?

I think it was really just having everybody expect me to go right back to normal. It was like, ‘Alright. You did your time. You paid your debt. You’re good now, right?’. But, the thing was, there was still a lot left unfinished with me, and it was hard to tell people that, because I felt like juvy was my time to get straightened out. I thought people would figure that if I didn’t get straightened out there, there wouldn’t be any hope for me.

Can you tell us about one event from your past that you would never change?

I would never, ever change what I did to help Trinity. It’s the one thing my friends always say I shouldn’t have done, and the one thing I know my parents are still kind of freaked out about. But I’m glad I did it. I have a really strong belief that every single thing happens for a reason, and I can look back at that time and see exactly where it led. And I couldn’t possibly be happier about how it all turned out.

You were an emotional rock for Trinity as she worked on her recovery. How did she help you?

Trinity…she’s amazing. She’s just a really honest person. And strong. She really stood up and faced some terrible stuff, and she went above and beyond. She taught me to not take the easy way out. Ever. And she taught me that it didn’t matter how well I tricked everyone else in my life. If I wasn’t doing the right thing for myself, it would always catch up with me in the end. That lesson was a hard one to learn, but she was right there for me when I did.

What got you into woodworking? Do you have any other hobbies?

My dad is really artistic, though it’s more textiles for him. And my mom is like a magician in the kitchen. My brother can grow anything. I guess I felt like I’d better get started making things so keep up with all the cool people in my family. My other hobbies? I’m a pretty simple guy, but I love cards, all kinds of games, but I can get the most people to play poker. I love wave fishing. I love being out in the woods, getting lost for hours and getting grubby.

You are so accepting of Trinity and everything she has to work through. Do you have previous experience with recovering addicts?

I actually have a brother who’s been in and out of trouble with drugs. And I work really closely at a youth center with recovering addicts. I think it’s important, if you’ve ever been tempted, to keep a really strong mind about how negative it is. For me, avoiding doesn’t cut it. I need to be around people it messed up or is still messing up. That keeps me focused on never doing any of that crap again.

What’s the quirkiest thing about you?

That’s a good question. I guess I’m kind of a weird guy all around. I’m all about being in the great outdoors. I’m not really a big video gamer or anything. My parents always say I’m an old soul, like I’ve been around before, and that makes sense to me. If I were a character in Star Wars, I’d totally be a young Yoda.

What do you plan to do once you’ve graduated?

I’d like to apprentice with a master furniture maker and take art classes on decorative wood working, like sculpting. I’m wondering if my work with wood will make me happier if it’s a functional thing or an art thing. Or both. But I definitely need to work with my hands. And I’d like to hang with Trinity a lot. We may go to different schools, but I’m trying to get her to agree to some summer programs and spring break trips together. I think I’ll be able to talk her into it, even though she thinks I’m crazy sometimes.

What inspires you?

Waking up every day healthy. Seriously, I feel like I wasted a lot of time being really stupid. Now, I try to remember that I’m so lucky every day. I’ve met people who screwed up in ways, ways there’s no coming back from. But me? My mistakes were all the kind I can make up for. And I can’t tell you how much I’m thankful for that.

Which God or Goddess are you similar to?

Does Yoda count? I know he’s not a god, technically, but a Jedi is pretty rad right? If Yoda counts, that’s my guy. I even have a little statue of him on my bedside table.

Who’s your favorite band? I’ll have to go super old school here and say Pearl Jam. It’s actually a band my uncle was into, and he used to take me out when I was in, like, kindergarten and play there stuff in his Jeep. I’ve always loved them.

What’s your favorite sport? I sound like an old man, but I love to fish. Not watching it on TV or anything, but that’s what I do with my time when I’ve got time to play something.

What is your favorite class in school? I love Latin. Call me a dork, but I like to know the roots of all the words, and I like the irony of trying to get fluent in a language no one speaks. But they should. Latin makes so much more sense than English.

What is your favorite movie? Definitely The Return of the Jedi. Trin’s brother Christian and I bonded over Star Wars, so that movie always feels like a good luck movie to me.

How about your favorite food? My mom’s chicken salad. When she cooks anything, it’s seriously magic, but her chicken salad could make people fight to the death, I’m serious.

Who do you look up to? My parents. They’re really strong, smart, patient people, and they kind of got the shaft with two guys like me and my brother. And Trinity. Even if we ever wound up breaking up or anything, I will make sure I keep up with that girl for the rest of my life. She’s definitely been an inspiration for me.

Find Forgiving Trinity

My Review     Goodreads     Amazon     Barnes & Noble

Find Liz Reinhardt

Goodreads     Blog     Twitter     Facebook

Giveaway

Enter to win either a copy of Liz’s other novels Double Clutch or Junk Miles (3 of each are up from grabs, but are US only) or an ebook copy of Forgiving Trinity (3 of these are available too AND are available to international fans, too) on this site. Just scroll down and enter via the Rafflecopter, but do it soon–the giveaway ends on April 20th.

About Simply Infatuated

Things I love: mermaids, things that sparkle, pigs, movies, thunderstorms and rain, spring breezes, Ethiopian food, books Things I avoid at all costs: monkeys, spiders, squirrels, animals with a bad attitude, the sun

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This sounds like it would be a great read!

  2. My boys would love Aidan! Especially with the Yoda reference. I think they love all things Yoda. Great interview, I was already intrigued by the book and now I am even more intrigued, it is going on my must-read list!

  3. This sounds like a great read.

  4. This is great- thanks for sharing and the interview

  5. Yes! Yoda counts LOL Thank you for taking the time today to share with us ;) I love a good character interview and this one certainly meets the bill.

  6. Becky Johnson

    This sounds pike a very powerful read; I’ll definitely check it out. Plus you can’t beat a bit of Pearl Jam :)

Leave a Reply

Single Sustainable Mom

An amazing journey

Simply Infatuated

The whims and fancies of a Jersey girl.

Aimée Carter

Blog of YA writer Aimée Carter

Rainbow's End Farm

Our little pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

Dab of Darkness

A dab of darkness in us all

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY NOVELS

ACReads

Reviews, discussions, whatever

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Law Reigns

Love for Literature Reigns Supreme

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,458 other followers

