Books I Love Coming to the Big and Small Screens

It’s no secret that one of the many things I’m infatuated with is Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series.  It’s pretty well known that the first book, City of Bones, is being turned into a movie and that Lily Collins has been cast as Clary with Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace.  An official synopsis of the plot has finally been released!

JCB will be the Jace to Lily Collins' Clary in 'City of Bones.'

CLARY FRAY (Lily Collins) is an ordinary Brooklyn teenager until the night she meets the mysteriously tattooed JACE, who turns out to be a half-angel warrior known as a Shadowhunter. When Clary finds out her mother JOCELYN has been abducted, she desperately hopes Jace will be able to help. After a whirling golden portal transports her across time and space in a heartbeat, Clary realizes she too has the powers of the Shadowhunters. But can she harness them in time to save her mother?

It looks like they are changing the beginning of the story.  This whirling golden portal sounds pretty hokey, I hope they make it work.

Clary, Jace and their fellow Shadowhunters endure one breathtaking battle after another against vampire, warlocks and demons—only to discover Jocelyn hid a terrible secret from the fiercest warrior of all: VALENTINE. Cast out from the world of Shadowhunters, Valentine abducted Jocelyn believing she had a powerful tool known as the Mortal Cup. Using her newfound gifts, Clary finds the Cup, only to be brutally betrayed and forced to relinquish it.

Still reeling from this setback and racing to save Jocelyn before it’s too late, Clary finds herself caught in a battle between forces she barely understands. Based on the best-selling series by Cassandra Clare, THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS: CITY OF BONES is a magnificent urban fantasy rich in detail and suspense, about a girl’s journey to the darkest corners of the underworld to save those she loves.

I hope that this announcement means that further casting announcements will be made shortly.  I need to know who will play Simon!!!  TMI Source has reported that the film will be shot in 3D.  I’m not excited about this development at all and I hope it doesn’t take away from the story.

While I’m loud in my love for TMI, I’m not so loud about Clarity a fabulous novel by author Kim Harrington.  I’m always a sucker for a good mystery and that’s exactly what Clarity is.  But now, it may also be a tv show!  This week, Kim made the big announcement on her blog.

Kim Harrington’s CLARITY, in which a teenage girl uses her visions to track a murderer and defend her brother’s innocence, to Warner Brothers TV by Shari Smiley at CAA, on behalf of Scott Miller at Trident Media Group.

I hope, hope, hope that if this show does get picked up that they do not cheese it out like Hollywood does to most television programs.

To celebrate, Kim is giving away a signed/personalized copy of Clarity in a super easy drawing–all you have to do is comment on her blog post about the book being optioned for tv.  And, because I love trailers, I’ve posted Clarity‘s below.

5 comments

  1. I am so excited about the City of Bones becoming a movie. I love all the books and can’t wait for the next one to come out. When I first heard about the book becoming a movie, there were rumors saying that Jace would be played by the guy in Beastly, Alex Pettyfer. I really got use to that idea. I don’t know if the final decision to cast Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace will be a good one. I hope so, because this is a series much like Twilight where there are a lot of die-hard fans. And to mess it up will be tragic. But I love the casting choice for Clary. She will be good, I think (I hope). Now I’ll have to read Clarity, sounds good.

    emoorewriting.wordpress

    • I was also excited for Alex Pettyfer to be Jace. Who knows what happened and why he didn’t get/take the part, but I know Cassandra Clare said that when JCB read the role, he was so perfect she cried. If that’s how she reacted, I believe he’ll be amazing, even if he’s not exactly who I chose at first.

Leave a Reply

