Strawberries Whiten Your Teeth

Strawberries as a tooth whitener? Sounds delicious, but I was doubtful it would work. However, after Organic Authority put the idea into my head, I just couldn’t resist trying it. Those tasty red berries contain malic acid which is a natural astringent that scrubs the stains right off your teeth. It’s recommended to use your strawberry whitening paste once each week. So far, I’ve only tried it once, but I plan to use it for a month to see if I get any results. But be forewarned: This stuff tastes NASTY! I expected a pleasant strawberry flavor, but all I got was baking soda. Yuck! Since strawberries aren’t in season, my berry was probably a little tart too.

To make your own strawberry whitener,

Just crush up a strawberry with a fork. Make sure you are thorough so you don't end up with a bunch of strawberry chunks.
Add 1 tsp of baking powder and mix until you get a red paste.

Once you have your mix, use a soft-bristled toothbrush to apply the paste to you teeth and let it sit for 5 minutes, then rinse. Follow up by brushing your teeth as you normally would. This step is very important! Rinsing the paste off without brushing after will cause tooth decay and cavities. Now my mouth feels very fresh, but I can’t tell a difference in whiteness yet.

Leave a Reply

