Cocktails & Characters Guest Post by Laura Kreitzer: Summer Chronicles’ Summer Waverly

Today’s post is written by Laura Kreitzer, author of the series Summer Chronicles. (I recently reviewed the second story in the series, Forsaken Harbor.) Enjoy!

I was asked to make a cocktail for one of the characters in the Summer Chronicles. It took me a while to decide what I wanted to do or how I was going to do it for two different reasons. Number one: I’m not a drinker. I like to keep my mind clear, and drinking has the opposite effect. Number two: the characters in the Summer Chronicles remain sober throughout, and most of them aren’t of drinking age. So I thought about it and finally came up with an idea.


I’m currently in Hawaii, enjoying my family and the beach while writing my next book. During my time here on Oahu, I came across a little grocery shop located in Haleiwa called Matsumoto that sells shaved ice.

My family raved about it, but I just didn’t see the appeal of, well, what I thought was a snow cone. After visiting, now I understand. They have dozens of flavors, and you can pick any three you want, plus you can add vanilla ice cream and sweet, Japanese azuki beans.

So my “cocktail” is named after Summer Waverly, and it’s called A Sweet Summer Sensation. It’s Matsumoto’s shaved ice with creamsicle, banana cream, and pineapple.

Laura Kreitzer is an author, editor, reviewer, and publisher who hails from western Kentucky. After some disheartening experiences while getting her first novel published, Laura decided to found Revolution Publishing, a corporation that seeks the best and brightest online fiction writers. While writing was always favorite hobby, she previously worked full-time in a lab devoted to water dye-tracing investigations at Western Kentucky University.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

