Guest Post by Witches Author Kathryn Meyer Griffith

Today we have author Kathryn Meyer Griffith back to talk about her novel Witches and why she became an author.

What started me off as an author was simply this: As a child, about eight or nine years old (the same time I began to draw pictures in pencil and years before I began to dream about being a singer with my younger brother Jim), I began reading books from the library. I had six brothers and sisters and though I had a loving family, there was very little money. We weren’t poverty poor, but we were poor at times. Sometimes our meals were scarce and we never had extra money for many toys or outside entertainment, so we learned to entertain ourselves. Played outside. Climbed trees and hid in deep dirt gullies. Sang, howled really, outside at night on the swing set.

I loved to read. The library books were free and plentiful. I’d sit on my bed, especially during the long summer days and evenings (after chores were done, of course) and read one amazing book after another. If I was lucky, with a chocolate snack or cherry Kool-Aid nearby. Those books, those words on the page, took me away to other places, times and worlds. It was magical. I got lost in people-on-a-spaceship-going–to-some-faraway-planet science fiction books. There was this one horse book when I was a kid that knocked me out, made me cry, and laugh with joy at the end it was so real to me and so full of pathos because I loved horses so much. It was called Smoky. Loved that book. Sigh. I never forgot how those wonderful books made me feel…so free. So adventurous. So rich. Like I could be or do anything someday. And when I grew up I wanted to create that magic myself for others.  So…that’s why I began writing.  And when I get depressed over my writing at times, I remember that.

I remember vividly one day at school (I must have been about 10 or so) when a big box of Weekly Reader books were delivered and we each got to pick one to read. The smell of those new books in that box as I looked at them, the excitement and awe of the other kids over the books and the reverence for those authors, and I thought: Wouldn’t it be something if someday a box of these books were mine…written by me? Oh, to be an author. People respect an author. It was the beginning.

Then there’s also a second part to the question: Why do I keep writing after 39 years? Because I can’t not write. I can’t stop. The stories take over my heart and mind and demand to come out. It’s sort of like birthing a baby (I have one real son and two grandchildren myself). You carry them for a while, a short or long time span, and then once they’re born (published) they go on to be their own individual entities that sometimes continue to amuse and amaze you. Or disappoint you. Whatever.

About Witches

From Goodreads

WHITE MAGIC
Amanda Givens uses her powers with great care. The people of Canaan, Connecticut would not welcome a witch among them even a white witch a “good” witch. For years, she has lived quietly in a remote cabin with Amadeus, her feline familiar. Bit when an evil coven filled with creatures from the depths of hell torments Canaan with unspeakable horrors and brutal slayings, Amanda knows she can hide no longer. She is the one they are after. And she is the only one who can stop the terror.

BLACK MAGIC
Ever since fanatical witchhunters consigned her to an eternity of fury, Rachel Coxe has been waiting for her chance to come back to life. Now, centuries later, the time is right. Amanda is all that stands between her and her unholy vengeance. Flanked by the forces of darkness, Rachel is ready to unleash all the horror at her command.

About Kathryn Meyer Griffith

Since childhood I’ve always been an artist and worked as a graphic designer in the corporate world and for newspapers for twenty-three years before I quit to write full time. I began writing novels at 21 and have had fourteen (nine romantic horror, one historical romance and two mysteries) previous novels published from Zebra Books, Leisure Books, Avalon Books, The Wild Rose Press, Damnation Books and Eternal Press.

I’ve been married to Russell for thirty-three years; have a son, James, and two grandchildren, Joshua and Caitlyn, and I live in a small quaint town in Illinois called Columbia, which is right across the JB Bridge from St. Louis, Mo. We have two quirky cats, Sasha and Cleo, and the four of us live happily in an old house in the heart of town. Though I’ve been an artist, and a folk singer in my youth with my brother Jim, writing has always been my greatest passion, my butterfly stage, and I’ll probably write stories until the day I die.

MySpace     Bebo     Facebook     Authors’ Den     Jacket Flap     Shout Life     Goodreads     Romance Writer and Reader     Romance Book Junction

This tour was organized by FMB Tours.

One comment

  1. Thank you Simply Infatuated for having me on your lovely blog. Warmly, author Kathryn Meyer Griffith rdgriff@htc.net
    P.S. I have many other backstory essays on my older books you can have anytime as well; even one, The Story of vampire Blood, talking about how Dean Koontz helped me get my first agent in 1990.
    (If you get more than 1 comment from me it’s because I had trouble posting them…ah, the Internet!)

Leave a Reply

