Unclogging Your Drain without Poison (and Cheaply!)

My shower gets clogged all the time and it drives me insane. After spending probably thousands of dollars over the years getting the pipes temporarily passable, I was ecstatic to find a chemical-free de-clogger from The Well Daily. This simple recipe combines

  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup cream of tartar

Then you pour the mixture into the drain and pour a kettle of boiling water on it. Not having to worry about breathing in the fumes, like I do with Draino, was such a relief.  The mixture gets very fizzy and makes sizzling sounds that had me praying it wouldn’t eat through the pipes or something. But, you have to let it sit two hours, so I was forced to wait with crossed fingers. Whenever I walked past the bathroom, I noticed a fresh, “bubbly” smell that must have been the mixture at work. What a pleasant change from that nasty chemical smell! To make sure the drain is clean, run your shower or bath to clear it all out after two hours. My drain seems to be all clear, so I think it really worked!

5 comments

  1. Our upstairs drain is clogged. I am going to try this today instead of running to the store and buying another can of Drain-o! Thank you for sharing!!! I will let you know if it works for me or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

