Interview with Author Julia Phillips Smith

Today we have a quick chat with Julia Phillips Smith, the author of Saint Sanguinis.

Do you write under a pen name?

I use my maiden name plus my married name. My maiden name alone belonged to a late Hollywood film producer (Julia Phillips) and my married name belongs to a mystery writer (Julie Smith.)

What day were you born?

I was born on Remembrance Day, which ultimately led to my opening scene for SAINT SANGUINUS. I found myself thinking about the unknown soldiers and warriors lying on their final battlefields, and that in turn led to my wondering what would happen if a person cursed God with their dying breath.

Do you have a nickname?

I have quite a few: Ju-Ju, Jule, Jule Girl, Julio, J, Jules

Did you have a favorite toy as a child?

My Raggedy Ann doll, who I named Candy, was my main doll, but I had a whole group of ‘sibling’ dolls for Candy: Jim (Bozo the clown,) Arnold (Campbell’s Soup rag doll,) Carolyn (baby doll,) Carol (a smaller baby doll,) and Chrissy (she of the orange lacey dress and auburn hair.)

Of course I had my Barbie family in my dollhouse that my grandfather made for me: the daddy (Malibu Ken,) the mommy (PJ,) the older sister Glori (a red-headed Dawn doll,) the younger sister Amy (a dark-haired Dawn doll,) and a porcelain cocker spaniel from the Lipton tea set of figurines.

Do you ever write in your PJ’s?

Definitely.

If you could travel in a Time Machine would you go back to the past or into the future?

The past, absolutely. I spend 70% of my waking life immersed in the past. I’m barely here in the present. Just enough to avoid walking into telephone poles.

If you could invite any 5 people to dinner who would you choose?

Russian actor Daniil Strakhov (go ahead – google him. He’s a very handsome fellow. But he would have lots of fascinating acting craft things to talk about.)

Russian ballet dancer Ivan Vasiliev. Yes, I have a thing for Russians. And for hunky ballet dancers. Especially passionate ones like him.

Scottish actor Ewan McGregor. A well-traveled and reflective soul.

Jensen Ackles. My favorite Winchester from Supernatural, plus we could chat about directing.

Australian actor Hugh Jackman. Loads of theatre and film stories I bet. Maybe he’d even sing a little.

I realize it’s the all-male dinner guest table, plus me—but it’s my fantasy, isn’t it?

If you were stranded on a desert island what 3 things would you want with you?

My camera, my journal and a pen.

What is one book everyone should read?

Active Parenting. When I was taking my Early Childhood Education course in the mid-80s, it was one of our textbooks. I guess now it’s part of a course package.

The thing is: the active listening skills I learned in that course which turns conflict into win-win situations has helped me in my adult jobs ever since, as well as in my personal relationships. It’s the single most useful book that has had the most profound impact on me.

If you were a superhero what would your name be?

Night Watcher

If you could have any superpower what would you choose?

To heal with a touch.

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?

Neapolitan. With hot fudge sauce on top.

If you could meet one person who has died who would you choose?

Laurence Olivier.

What is your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

Eggie sandwiches, especially the way they make them for me at my local deli: toasted English muffin, mayo, egg, cheese, sliced tomato, salt & pepper. Mmm.

Night owl, or early bird?

LOL! Are you kidding me? Night owl, baby.

One food you would never eat?

Steak tartar. Blech.

Pet Peeves?

Delusions of entitlement. Earn it, chum.

Rushing and not doing a careful job. Why do things twice?

Skittles or M&Ms?

Definitely M&Ms, especially the peanut ones.

About Julia Phillips Smith

A graduate of Ryerson University’s film program, Julia Phillips Smith’s previous writing credits include scripts for radio and television. She has donned various creative hats, including stage manager (theatre), editor (TV documentary) and director (short films.)

Julia lives with her husband and her mom on Canada’s east coast, where the rugged sea and misty forests feed her thirst for gothic tales.

A longtime blogger, she invites you to visit A Piece of My Mind.

Find Julia Phillips Smith

Website     Facebook     Twitter     Pintrest     Blog

About Saint Sanguinis

An elite brotherhood stands between humans and vampires, preventing one side from annihilating the other. Who are called to this service?

Only those warriors who curse God with their dying breath. Welsh warrior Peredur falls to a spear before he can claim Tanwen for his bride. Raging on the battlefield, Peredur utters the curse that seals his fate and leads him to another life. Using the power of a saint whose bone makes up an amulet, Peredur takes on the trials to become a true member of the brethren. Yet his need for the chieftain’s daughter Tanwen still burns.

Tanwen resists her father’s command to take a husband. The only one who understands her sorrow is Cavan, the wise woman’s son. When he promises that he can reunite her with her beloved, she agrees to his terms.

But does Tanwen truly understand the depth of the price that must be paid?

6 comments

Leave a Reply

