Author Interview: Sasha Summers

Sasha Summers dishes about writing across genres, writing YA, and her latest novel, Hollywood Ever After.

Did you have any real-life actors in mind while writing Josh Wiley?

I did – but I’m hesitant to say who. Not everyone is a fan… But I wrote this a few years ago so it was before he’d ‘risen’. *SIGH* But since I’ve posted pics of him on my Hollywood Ever After’s Pinterest page, I guess I can fess up. It’s Robert Pattinson.

Can you tell us anything about the next book in the series, Hollywood Holiday?

I don’t want to give too much away but I will tell you that Josh and Claire and their family are back… but they’re not the hero and heroine of this book. Jennifer Fleming is the heroine. And Ben Foster, Claire’s brother, is the hero. They’re a very feisty couple, lots of fun to write!

You’ve also written some Sci-Fi, Dystopian, and Fantasy novels. Is it difficult to jump from genre to genre when writing?

Actually I like jumping genres. I’m that way with my reading too. I don’t want to get bored with my characters or my ‘worlds’ so I’m lucky enough to spend time in different times, place, and genres and keep things ‘fresh’ – at least, I hope so!

Are there any other types of books you would like to write?

Actually, I have a wonderful sweet contemporary YA romance I’d love to find a home for. A gross and intense YA zombie novel… and a 2 book YA dystopian series that’s awesome (but I think that genre might saturated right now…) So I guess YA.

What are some of the songs you listened to while writing Hollywood Ever After? OOOH Yes. Hollywood Ever After has a full playlist. Here’s the link. A few faves:



Did any movies inspire Hollywood Ever After?

I think Notting Hill, The Holiday, and Love Actually influenced it. I wanted the warm ensemble feel, dash of humor, sincere emotion, and relatable characters – with awesome backdrops!

Who is your favorite celebrity couple?

Honestly I’d say Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford or Jennifer Garner and Ben Affleck. They seem to ‘get it’

Have you ever considered writing a script?

I have. It’s funny, when I’m writing I see the book – like a movie so I have definitely imagined writing the screenplays… Maybe? Who knows. I’m pretty willing to try anything once.

Thanks for taking time off your writing to do this interview!

About Hollywood Ever After

Happy Endings are for fairy tales. Or the movies. Not for real life. At least, not Claire’s life. Even though she’s starting over, she knows better than to want too much this time. But when she falls, literally, into the strong arms of Hollywood’s ‘it’ boy Josh Wiley, Claire’s in for some surprises.

Her plans for rest and relaxation are forgotten as one incredible night with Josh becomes two…

And her heart begins to want him as much as her body. Will two kids, one bastard ex-husband, and Josh’s juggernaut career mean the end of their affair?

Or can Claire find her happy ending after all?

Preorder Hollywood Ever After.

About Sasha Summers

Sasha Summers is part gypsy. Her passions have always been storytelling, history, romance, and travel. She writes both lyrical romantic fantasy and contemporary romance. Her first play was written for her Girl Scout troupe. She’s been writing ever since.

She loves getting lost in the worlds and characters she creates; even if she frequently forgets to run the dishwasher or wash socks when she’s doing so. Luckily, her four brilliant children and hero-inspiring hubby are super understanding and supportive.

Find Sasha Summers

Website     Twitter     Facebook     GoodReads     Pintrest

2 comments

  1. Hope you get to write a screenplay. I’m sure it’d be much better than most of the junk the movie studios are putting out! I’ll have to check your other books.

Leave a Reply

