Chemical-Free Fabric Softener Is in Your Kitchen

My latest attempt at going as chemical-free as possible was in the laundry room. I love me some soft clothes, but don’t care for the poisonous ingredients in most fabric softeners. So what’s a girl to do? Turn to that jack-of-all-trades known as baking soda.

I poured a 1/4 cup into my wash cycle and my clothes came out nice and soft. They also had a fresh, clean scent that was truly fresh smelling–not a chemically-induced spring rain smell or whatever the scent of my latest store-bought softener was. (The baking soda drain unclogger I made had this benefit, as well.)

Next mission, get rid of my dryer sheets by using one of those plastic dryer balls. Sadly, baking soda does not get rid of static electricity too. Wish me luck!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

