Cocktails and Characters: Kit and Fancy Cordelle from Slice of Cherry

If you are familiar with Dia Reeves’ writing, you know that she creates characters that are “off.” They seem to fit into Portero, the setting of Slice of Cherry (click on the cover for its Goodreads page) and her debut novel, Bleeding Violet, but each personality she creates is at least slightly psychotic in a dark and dangerous way. And, Fancy and Kit Cordelle from Slice of Cherry are no exception, which is why I thought of them while making my vodka-infused gummy bears.

Like my gummies, the Cordelle sisters are seemingly sweet and innocent–until you get to know them. Then this blood-thirsty duo has a surprising bit much like the taste of the vodka in the bears. And, the Cordelle are kids so let’s face it–they’re probably sticky.

How to Make the Bears

I took my recipe from cortnix on Instructables. The recipe calls for:

– 1 1/2 cups of vodka (I used a little more, but next time I’m using the whole bottle. I used Absolut.)
– about 1kg of gummy bears (If you get the kind in a tub, it’s easier because you can make them right in the container. I didn’t and they still came out ok though.)
– 1 can of frozen juice concentrate, any flavor (I used fruit punch.)

I started off by putting the gummy bears in a tupperware container and poured the vodka over them. You want the vodka to just peek over the top. Then, stir your bears, cover them, and put them in the fridge.

Next, you wait and stir. The bears should be stirred a few times a day or they’ll stick together. The original recipe says that it takes about 5 days for the vodka to be soaked up, but I found that my bears took it in a lot faster. Once you’ve hit 5 days or the vodka is gone from the container, you have two choices: Eat them or try to mask the vodka flavor. They tasted ok but a little strong, so I decided to mask the vodka by adding the fruit punch concentrate. (It wasn’t worth it; next time, I’m skipping.)

But, if you’s like to try to cover up the alcohol, here’s the deets. You’ll need to get your frozen juice concentrate and thaw it. Then pour the juice in a mixing container and add only half the water necessary. Then, scoop out 1 cup of the mixture and pour it over the bears. (Don’t forget to stir!) Then replace the lid and put it back in the refrigerator. You’re supposed to let the bears sit for another 4 days so they don’t taste like the vodka. It works, but not as well as I would have liked. But with or without the fruit punch, these bears are still fun to eat.

Leave a Reply

