Giveaway and Interview with Darah and Renee from Chelsea Cameron’s My Favorite Mistake

Get the inside scoop on Taylor and Hunter from their roommates: Darah and Renee.

How has your college experience been so far? Is it what you expected?

Darah: It’s been great, so far. Although, I have to say I really, really hate Economics. I really hope my professor doesn’t see this. *turns to Renee* What if my professor sees this?

Renee: Girl, you are so paranoid. Mr. Green probably doesn’t even know what a blog is. College. Well, I thought I’d be getting drunk a lot more than I do now. I don’t really have time for that with all the studying. They should really make college look more realistic in movies, in my opinion.

Darah: They never seem to actually go to class in movies.

Renee: I know! What is up with that?

Darah: I have no idea. *pause* I shouldn’t have said that about Economics. I’m sorry Mr. Green if you read this!

 

Have you picked a major yet?

Renee: Well, my major is nursing, but I want to work with babies in the neo-natal intensive care unit of a hospital, so I’ll need to go to school for that as well. They’re just so damn cute.

Darah: When I first learned what an accountant was, I told my mom that was what I wanted to do. It’s even listed as one of my ambitions in my yearbook. I’ve always loved crunching numbers.

Renee: *rolls eyes* That’s because you like things that are just so.

Darah: What’s wrong with that?

Renee: Nothing, nothing.

 

If you had one day left to live and money was no object, what would you do?

Renee: Ooohh, I love this kind of question! Okay, let’s see. Would we know ahead of time so we could plan travel? If so, I’d be in France or Italy and I’d want to stuff my face with every single fattening thing I could afford. And then I’d probably do something nice like give a bunch of money away, because that would probably get me good karma points.

Darah: When you say day, do you mean a full 24 hours?

Renee: Oh my God, will you just stop thinking about things so much?

Darah: What? It’s an important question so I know what time frame I’m working with.

Renee: 24 hours.

Darah: Okay. Hmm… Well, I’d want to be with my family and have everyone I loved around me. So I guess I’d spend the money on getting everyone in the same place so I could see them.

Renee: What the hell? Yours makes mine sound so superficial now!

Darah: Why is that my fault?

Renee: Whatever.

 

What do you like to do for fun?

Renee: Skyrim!

Darah: She really loves Skyrim. I blame Paul for her obsession.

Renee: Hey! We said we weren’t going to speak his name. He’s my EX-boyfriend. Emphasis on the EX.

Darah: Can I talk now? It’s not all about you, Ne.

Renee: *grits teeth* Don’t call me that. He called me that.

Darah: I like to take pictures. You can never have enough pictures in my opinion. Plus, they look amazing all arranged on my wall.

Renee: *grumbles*

 

Describe your other roommates, Taylor and Hunter, in three words for each.

Renee: There’s only one word for Hunter. Sexy.

Darah: I’d say… Confident.

Renee: Confident? You mean cocky.

Darah: Well, I was trying to think of a better word, but yes. That pretty much sums him up. For Taylor? How would we describe her?

Renee: We love her, don’t get us wrong. Okay, I’d go with impulsive.

Darah: Impulsive? That’s the best you can come up with?

Renee: But she is impulsive.

Darah: But not on purpose. I’d go with complicated.

Renee: Complicated? How is that better than impulsive?

Darah: Next question?

 

What did you think of their bet?

Renee: I thought it was the stupidest thing I’d ever heard of. I mean, she tells him she hates him on a daily basis, yet he’s still here. Obviously he’s just screwing with her.

Darah: I think it’s trouble. How can you win something like that? Love and hate aren’t quantifiable.

Renee: You and your math.

 

Did you ever consider dating Hunter?

Renee: Uh, I was ready to jump him the moment I saw him. That was before I saw he only had eyes for Tay.

Darah: He’s not really my type.

Renee: That’s crap. She’s got it baaadd for his cousin, Mase.

Darah: *mumbles* I do not.

Renee: They look like they fell from the same tree.

Darah: What?

Renee: You know. That expression about the apple not falling far from the tree? They look like they fell from the same tree.

Darah: That doesn’t make any sense.

Renee: It’s an expression!

 

What is your favorite memory of you and your roommates so far?

Darah: That first night was great. The guys got pizza and we all sat around and talked. It was amazing how comfortable it was having Hunter and Mase here.

Renee: Playing Skyrim with the guys. I totally won.

Darah: You would say that.

Renee: Oh, and any night Hunter cooks. Guy has major skills in the kitchen.

Darah: That reminds me, it’s your turn to go for groceries.

Renee: I just went!

Darah: No, you didn’t. All you have to do is check the Chore Chart. I made sure that everything was equal.

Renee: I don’t believe you.

Darah: Oh my God, it’s right on the fridge. Could you excuse us? I think we need to have a Roommate Meeting on the purpose and fairness of the Chore Chart.

Renee: *yells from the kitchen* It’s says right here that I was on last week!

About My Favorite Mistake

Taylor Caldwell can’t decide if she wants to kiss her new college roommate or punch him.

On the one hand, Hunter Zaccadelli is a handsome, blue-eyed bundle of charm. On the other, he’s a tattooed, guitar-playing bundle of bad boy. Maybe that’s why Taylor’s afraid of falling in love with him, or anyone else. She doesn’t want to get burned, and even though her other roommates adore him, she wants him gone before it’s too late.

Hunter himself has been been burned before, but the fact that Taylor calls him out on his crap and has the sexiest laugh ever make him decide maybe love isn’t a lost cause. They make a bet: if she can convince him she truly loves or hates him, he’ll leave the apartment–and leave her alone. The problem is, the more time they spend together, the less she hates him, and the more she moves toward love.

But when the man who holds the key to Taylor’s fear of giving up her heart resurfaces and threatens to wreck everything, she has to decide: trust Hunter with her greatest secret, or do everything in her power to win that bet and drive him away forever.

Genre: New Adult

My Favorite Mistake

About the Author

Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA/NA writer from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world’s worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, singing in the car and tweeting. She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head. More often than not, these people turn out to be just as weird as she is.

She has two books out now, Nocturnal and Nightmare, the first and second books in the Noctalis Chronicles about a girl with a dying mother who meets an immortal boy. The third book, Numb will be out this August, and the fourth in the winter. Her other book, Whisper, about a girl who is alive, a boy who isn’t and the complications that go along with their relationship, released June 16 and is the first in a trilogy.

Find Chelsea Cameron

Blog     Twitter    Goodreads     Amazon

Giveaway

Chelsea has an awesome giveaway with a lot of prizes going on! You can win one of three sets of peacock earrings, one of three signed paperback copies of My Favorite Mistake, one of nine ebook copies of the novel, or one of six signed bookmarks. Just enter through this Rafflecopter widget. The giveaway ends on November 8th, 2012.

2 comments

  1. The biggest mistake I’ve ever made was staying with my abusive boyfriend after my son was born. I should have left him after the baby was born but was afraid to leave. I wound up getting arrested and spending a few days in jail because he blamed me for stealing something.

Leave a Reply

