A Forbidden Chat with Author Kimberly Kinrade

Kimberly Kindrade talks about Forbidden Fire and the final Forbidden novel, Forbidden Life, before dishing on her NEW YA series and a new adult novel.

In the Forbidden series, the children at Rent-A-Kid have their own super power. If you could have any power, what would it be?

I’d want to be able to tell if people are lying, like Lucy. I don’t think I would enjoy mind reading like Sam, that’s just TMI, ya know? But lie detection? That would rock.

Forbidden Fire is the second book in the series. Does it pick up the story from the end point of Forbidden Mind?

Pretty much. It’s a few weeks later. In The Forbidden Trilogy, coming out November 26th, in addition to all three Forbidden books, it will have some interlude stories between Forbidden Mind and Forbidden Fire, and between Forbidden Fire and Forbidden Life that cover some of the story that’s not shown.

Extra shorts stories?! I think I hear your fans jumping up and down and squeeing! Was writing a sequel harder than writing the first book in a series?

In many ways, it was easier. I already knew the characters, I knew how the series would end, and I had really clear direction on what would happen in the second book, so it was probably the easiest of the three to write.

The next book in the series, Forbidden Life, was just released. Does it wrap the series up or will there be more?

All your questions will be answered by the end of Forbidden Life. It completely wraps up the trilogy in a way I think is very awesome (and I hope my readers will agree.) However, that’s not to say there won’t be more. Sam and Drake’s story is over, for now, but Luke and Lucy aren’t done with me. They have their own trilogy (The Fallen Trilogy) coming out in May, 2013 that I’m co-writing with my husband, Dmytry Karpov.

The first book in that series is called Blood of the Fallen, and actually all three books will release through Evolved Publishing on the same day! While technically it’s part of the Forbidden Saga (same world), the Forbidden Trilogy only showed a small sliver of the world. The Fallen Trilogy cracks that world wide open. You don’t have to read the Forbidden Trilogy to enjoy the Fallen Trilogy, and vice versa, but they do build on each other in ways. Still, they are distinctly stand-alone.

Can you tell us a little about Forbidden Life?

Forbidden Life is the final book in the Forbidden Trilogy, and it’s my favorite (and the longest.) It’s three times longer than the first two books, and has a lot more of Lucy’s story in it. In this book, the Big Bad of Rent-A-Kid is faced, and everyone’s secrets are revealed in some unexpected ways as Lucy, Luke, Sam and Drake battle to save the younger kids still trapped by Rent-A-Kid and take down the whole organization once and for all.

Also, Lucy gets a love interest that I think you’re going to LOVE! (At least I did, they were my favorite parts to write!)

There’s a lot of personal growth in this book. These teens have been through so much and each have had to face some pretty dark corners of their own hearts. In this book, they learn a lot, grow a lot and really overcome some self-limiting beliefs that have held them back.

When you began writing the Forbidden series, did you plot out series, just the books, or did you just let the story flow without any pre-planning?

The first book, Forbidden Mind, was just written in the flow. I thought it would be a short story. HA! The second book was outlined by the chapter, and I knew how the series would end. The third book was outlined in much more detail, as I needed to make sure that I got all the tiny details in that would wrap up everything, and I didn’t want to have to rewrite a 150,000 word book if I screwed up! Lol

After writing paranomal/fantasy books for every age group, have you found an age category that you prefer?

You know, I love them all for different reasons. My children’s books, The Three Lost Kids series, are so fun for me, especially since they’re based on my own girls and I get to talk through the plots with them and teach them the process as I write them.

YA gives me a chance to tackle fun coming of age themes, and the adult paranormal books I have coming out soon (which are still more YA, but YA has taken to meaning teen or younger, and I wanted to write books that were more focused on the actual young adult, rather than teen, so now I’m calling them adult) give me freedom to write more adult themes that are becoming more difficult to explore in YA.

Do you have plans to write in other genres?

I am taking a pen name, Daring Davenport, to publish adult romance with more sexual content. My first book in this pen name, A Slave to Sex, launches Jan. 15th. While I’m obviously not hiding my pen name from the public, because I write for children and YA as Kimberly Kinrade, I wanted to make sure any book I wrote with sexually explicit adult content was clearly different, so nobody too young stumbled on it by accident.

What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

I love to read or hang out with my kids and hubby. I also like playing with my kittens, catching up on sleep, and … yeah, that’s about it. I write most of the time. lol

If they made a movie about your life, who would you cast to play you?

Kimberly Williams. Not only does she have my name, but people used to say I look like her. Not sure how true that is, but she’d be awesome!

About Forbidden Fire

“She escaped, but she’ll never be free.”

“Time held no meaning as my mind darted in and out of memories. Past and present collided to create a full-sensory collage out of my life: playing hide-n-seek with my best friends Luke–who always cheated by walking through walls when he was about to be caught–and Lucy; Mr. Caldrin critiquing my sketches and offering ideas to make them more realistic; targets changing faces, blending into the same person, their thoughts rippling through my mind like waves. Through it all, a demon stalked me from the shadows of my memories, never quite showing its face, but crouching, waiting.

And then I dreamed….”

Sam and Drake may have escaped, but they aren’t free—not with a powerful Seeker after them. As Sam struggles with the ethics of her new powers and embraces a blossoming physical relationship with Drake, Lucy and Luke face challenges of their own.

With forces coalescing inside and outside the Rent-A-Kid dorms, it’s only a matter of time before the fire they started forces each of them to make choices they can’t undo. But will it be enough to save them?

Find Forbidden Fire

Amazon (paperback)     Amazon (Kindle)     GoodReads     I. P. I. Academy

About Kimberly Kinrade

Kimberly Kinrade was born with ink in her veins and magic in her heart. She writes fantasy and paranormal stories for children, YA and adults and still believes in magic worlds. Check out her YA paranormal novels Forbidden Mind and Forbidden Fire and her illustrated children’s fantasy chapter books Lexie World, and Bella World, all on Amazon.

She lives with her three little girls who think they’re ninja princesses with super powers, her two dogs who think they’re humans and her husband, also known as the sexy Russian Prince, who is the love of her life and writing partner.

For a list of her books, check out: http://Amazon.com/author/kimberlykinrade

Find Kimberly Kinrade

Website     Twitter     Facebook     IPI Twitter     IPI Facebook

Giveaway

There are a few different prizes you can enter to win at this link (you’ll have to scroll down a little). One prize is a $25 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of each book in the trilogy. Or, you could win a copy of Forbidden Mind and swag. A bookmark and IPI badge and postcards are also up for grabs.

Examples of the bookmarks are sprinkled throughout this post and an example of the postcards is below.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

