Claudia Gray Answers Your ‘Spellcaster’ Questions

Claudia Gray is finally revealing some new info about the first book in her upcoming trilogy, Spellcaster. In two recent blog posts (Part 1 Part 2), she answered a lot of fan questions and revealed a bit about what to expect.

Spellcaster takes place in a small town named Captive’s Sound. There are female witches in this world, and their secret is zealously guarded from the men. Mothers teach their daughters who have been born with the gift  how to use their powers in secret. How powerful a witch becomes is based solely on her: how hard she works in training and her life experiences. Claudia likens being a witch in the Spellcaster world to being an Olympic gold medalist.

The series was inspired by Claudia’s short story, “I Don’t Like Your Girlfriend” in the anthology Vacations from HellSpellcaster takes place in that same world, but none of the characters are the same and the series is not quite as funny as the short.

There are three main characters: Nadia Caldani, Mateo Perez, and Verlaine Laughton. Nadia is a young witch smarting over her mother’s absence and its aftermath, like no one to teach her how to use her powers, more responsibility, and a move to a small town. Mateo is Captive’s Sound’s resident outcast. His family members have a habit of committing suicide, and when he begins to dream of the future, he knows the family curse will claim him soon. But not before there’s a little romance with Nadia.

Verlaine is such an outcast that other outcasts, like Mateo, won’t have anything to do with her. But, she may be the one person Nadia can trust if for no other reason than having no one to tell. All three characters are the focus of the series–according to Claudia, “this comes much closer to being an ensemble piece than anything else I’ve written to date.” Even the romance is spread out evenly since Verlaine will eventually get a love interest too (and it’s not Mateo–noooo love triangles for these three).

Why will we love them? According to Claudia:

I think anybody who’s had to deal with way too much, way too soon in life, and sometimes feels like the pressure is too much, will relate to Nadia. I think anybody who has felt judged, like they need to break free of what people think about them and just be who they are, will sympathize with Mateo. And I think anybody who’s dealt with enduring loneliness will understand Verlaine.

But what Claudia is really loving is the villain, who is a lot of fun to write.

The second book in the trilogy is Steadfast and is being written as we speak. Spellcaster will release on March 5, 2013.

In case you haven’t read it, here’s the book blurb:

When Nadia’s family moves to Captive’s Sound, she instantly realizes there’s more to it than meets the eye. Descended from witches, Nadia senses a dark and powerful magic at work in her new town. Mateo has lived in Captive’s Sound his entire life, trying to dodge the local legend that his family is cursed – and that curse will cause him to believe he’s seeing the future … until it drives him mad. When the strange dreams Mateo has been having of rescuing a beautiful girl—Nadia—from a car accident come true, he knows he’s doomed.

Despite the forces pulling them apart, Nadia and Mateo must work together to break the chains of his family’s terrible curse, and to prevent a disaster that threatens the lives of everyone around them. Shimmering with magic and mystery, New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray’s new novel is sure to draw fans of the Hex Hall and Caster Chronicles series, and fans of the hit CW TV show The Secret Circle.

5 comments

  1. my name is naevia I will love to share my testimony with all my viewers because I never thought I would have another chance with my husband, the man I so much love, he left me for another woman, and when I called him, he never picked my calls, he deleted me on his face book account and then set the status to having a lady with the other chick. I was devastated. I went to three spell casters before I met Dr jujuman. Who help me get all my lost hope. I lost a lot of money with them and got no results. So when I came to Dr jujuman, I was really leery of him and didn’t think he could help me. I though it is too good to be true, because all the other spell casters were supposedly good and none of them helped me. I saw the testimonials and read the other testimonials and decided to get the consultation. He said he could help me, but my chances of getting my ex were very low and he didn’t recommend it at all. But I insisted that he at least give me the chance to work with him and try and if it didn’t work, I wouldn’t be upset and I would move on with my life. He agreed. Since he is in jersey and am in need, I decided I would go in person to have my spells cast. He is a really sweet and gentle man, when I met him I was really surprised. He looks very young, and I had my doubts whether or not he would be able to help me. But I figured I came all that way and I said I would try so I tried it. He called a spirit to talk with me and do the work, it was a woman spirit and when it came it totally transformed Dr’s face. That is when I thought to myself that it might just work. The spirit gave me some advice and did the spells. I had a separation spell and a reunion spell done. The spirit said it would take a while for my ex to leave his new girl but once he did, he would come to me very quickly. She gave me some things to take home and do. I did them, but I was really nervous. I think I messed up a few times and I told her and she said just keep going and I would be fine. So I did. It was like 6 or 7 weeks later and I saw that my ex unblocked me from facebook. I saw he had changed his status again to single. So I was super excited because I took this to mean that he had split up with the other girl. About 10,days after that my ex called me. At first, it was weird between us. He wanted to see me. So I went to meet up with him. He didn’t ask me back then. I got very anxious and told t, and she said to stay calm and everything would turn out okay. So I did the best I could although I was still worried. We met up a few more times after that, and still he didn’t ask me back out. So I got a consultation with Doctor and he said to expect my ex to ask me back out within two weeks from the consultation. I listened, but I wasn’t sure it would happen. Then it was almost 2 weeks later, and I though, damn, Doctor was wrong. But the next day (there was like 2 days left from it being 2 weeks) my ex called and we got together. He asked me if I would be willing to try our relationship again, which of course I said yes. That was about 3 weeks ago, and so far we have been doing okay, we still have a lot of things to work out, but I am very happy. dr jujuman is the real deal and I am so glad that I found him and I recommend him to anyone who needs help. Thank you so much doctor you saved my life!
    Reply? You can as we contact him for your help email jujumanlovespell@gmail.com

  2. Getting my Ex back was something that i couldn’t imagine will be so easy am John Wales. I’ve known Sophia for years, When we finally got together,things were so weird so we broke up in February 2011.In June 2012, she and I recently got back together and we were together until march of 2013 of which she told me she was not interested in the relationship again During that time my mind was completely at a state of unrest, I wasn’t eating, neither was i sleeping,talking to anyone was even more difficult, I cried,I was so depressed and stressed out that I was scared and was even planning to end it all but a friend of mine named Lucas Scott who passed through same situation adviced me to contact Dr.Oguma through his email at Dr.ogumalovehome@gmail. com because I Love and care about her deeply and I just want us to be together again, i contacted him reluctantly. I never used to believe in spell casting but i gave it a try and it was a positive result. Today we are happily married and blessed with two wonderful kids. To you all out there faced with the same problem or similar to this, you can contact Dr.Oguma via his email address Dr.ogumalovehome@gmail. com once again thank you Dr. Oguma for bringing back my love.

  3. Hello i want to appreciate Dr Atili for all he has done for me when i lost my lover..i real pass through pains and i cry all days and night but when i contacted Dr atili he brought him back without no delay.am here to tell you that Dr atili is the right person to contact when ever you are passing through any problem in life via

    Dr atili Email : atilihomeofanswer@gmail.com
    Dr atili Phone Number: +2347051255824

    Thanks to you all and I hope your problems get solved soonest.
    Name: Lucy Mac
    My Phone Number : +447024016897

  4. Hello, my name is angel I can’t hide this amazing testimony that took place in my life. A powerful spell-caster named Dr. Alimosho helped me to bring back my love who left me while I was six months pregnant and went on a peace keeping mission in Holland. We both love each other and it was a shock to me and it really broke my heart. I tried to call him and both of his lines were disconnected. I tried to reach him on social networks but he deleted me off of them. I tried to reach his parents and they told me that their son said that he does not love me and does not want to see me and they do not know what is wrong. I cried and cried everyday because I loved him very much. Until I gave birth and the baby was one year old, I could not get my love back. Again, I was confused. I do not know what to do and I also lost my job and I have no money to take care of the baby. I was miserable in life so I cried to my sister and told her my problem and said that she knew of one powerful spell caster that helped her when she could not get pregnant. I contacted him by email and he said he will help me and told me that a woman cast a spell upon my man and said he will help me break the spell so my man will come back to me and be mine forever. It was a great surprise to me that everything that he said came to pass. My man came back to me immediately, saying that I should forgive him. I am sending a very big thank you to this powerful and real spell caster. I pray for him to live long and do more of his wonderful work. If you have any kind of problem disturbing you in life, you have to contact this powerful spell caster! He can help you.contact him through this email;alimoshospelltemple@gmail.com

  5. SHARE WITH ME THIS GREAT TESTIMONY

    Hello,
    Grace is my name from South Africa,after being in relationship with Emma for seven years,he broke up with me, I did everything possible to bring him back but all was in vain, I wanted him back so much because of the love I have for him, I begged him with everything, I made promises but he refused. I explained my problem to someone online and she suggested that I should rather contact a spell caster that could help me cast a spell to bring him back but I am the type that never believed in spell, I had no choice than to try it, I mailed the spell caster, and he told me there was no problem that everything will be okay before three days, that my ex will return to me before three days, he cast the spell and surprisingly in the second day, it was around 4pm. My ex called me, I was so surprised, I answered the call and all he said was that he was so sorry for everything that happened, that he wanted me to return to him, that he loves me so much. I was so happy and went to him, that was how we started living together happily again. Since then, I have made promise that anybody I know that have a relationship problem, I would be of help to such person by reffering him or her to the only real and powerful spell caster who helped me with my own problem . Anybody could need the help of the spell caster, his email: zumaitempleofsuccess@gmail.com, you can email him if you need his assistance in your relationship or anything.I CAN NEVER STOP TALKING ABOUT YOU SIR FOR THIS WONDERFUL THING YOU HAVE DONE IN MY LIFE, HIS EMAIL ADDRESS IS:zumaitempleofsuccess@gmail.com, CONTACT HIM NOW FOR SOLUTION TO ALL YOUR PROBLEM.

Leave a Reply

