Giveaway and Interview with Taryn Elliott, Author of ‘Ashes and Wine’

Author Taryn Elliott dishes on her latest title, Ashes and Wine, its perfect wine pairing, and spin-off stories.

How did you come up with the idea for Ashes and Wine?

I’ve always wanted to do a winery story. There’s something fascinating about the cyclical life of anyone that relies on the land for their livelihood. I’m not much interested in the farming thing, nor the ranching type stories. (Watch, I’ll come up with one now. LOL) But the winery is so interesting. The romantic side of it, the creative side, the manipulative chemistry-based side—all those infinite stories locked inside.

And then there was the personal aspect of cancer. I’ve lived through losing both my parents to it. Both my brother and I dealt differently. I figured it was a perfect place to use it. The patriarch of the winery and his huge personality bowing down to an outside force he cannot control. It enraged him and learning to let go is even harder in that situation. Each of his sons reacts differently to the loss. It gave a lot of conflict to the story and future stories.

Is Ashes and Wine a stand-alone or do you plan to turn it into a series?

I just got the go-ahead from my editor to work on the next book. I have ideas for all the brothers, just depends on my editor and the higher ups whether I get to give them all stories. Right now, it’s Alaric and Mercy from the supporting characters in this book. Not one of the brothers.

Are you a wine drinker? What’s your favorite?

I’m not a big drinker. But I have found that I’m much more open to trying wines now that I’m older. We had a wine tasting/dinner thing at my house and discovered that I actually do like more than Moscato and Riesling. Barefoot Moscato? Yeah—I can drink that in a sippie cup. Evil. LOL

If you had to do a wine pairing with Ashes and Wine, what would you match up with your novel?

It would have to be a Riesling. It’s as close to the Tocai that I talk about all through the book. Crisp and almost fruity.

If Ashes and Wine became a movie, who would you cast?

Oh yeah—I’m all about this one. Emma Stone is pretty much my Tessa. LOL Feisty and a little outrageous and funny. I totally have a fangirl crush on her. LOL And for Royal he’s a cross between Eric Etebari and Adrien Paul in his Highlander days. *sigh* Such good stuff.

Did you have to travel to do any of your research?

No, but I do plan to head down to the wineries off of the Long Island area. I need to know if it’s close to what I envision. I did a lot of research on line. I have another series set in The Hamptons, so it’s a two-fer trip I think.

Do you have a method for developing your characters (list of attributes, character sketch, etc.) or do you let them develop as you go?

No, it’s pretty organic. I have an idea of what I want, but I don’t really get to know them until I start writing. I do pick out an inspiration character though. Pinterest gets a lot of use when I’m figuring out a story initially. And sometimes the people I initially pick don’t end up what I really wanted. The characters and the story take over. And the story tells me what I need. I might fight it at first, but eventually I give in.

What are you currently reading?

At the moment I’m reading my crit partner, Cari Quinn’s, WIP No Romance Required. Cory is delicious. She has a true gift for making me stay up late and read. Twisty CEO with a few specialized kinks. Oh yeah. I’m enjoying my HOT read.

Who is your favorite author?

LaNora – aka Nora Roberts. That woman gets me every single time.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I forgot what that feels like lately. LOL But honestly? I’m a total television hound. Lately I’ve been immersing myself in entire seasons of long running shows. I love to do that. It’s like chapters in a book, real time.

About Ashes and Wine

Before Tessa met Royal Andreas, her bookstore was on the verge of sinking. And before Tessa met Royal Andreas, she didn’t mind being single. But Royal brings in business with monthly wine tastings featuring his family’s signature vintages–and brings Tessa’s heart to a standstill with intense gray eyes that look on her with nothing but cool indifference.

Yet one searing kiss between the stacks gives Tessa a glimpse of the passion smoldering beneath–and a secret pain further revealed when Royal fills in as the musician at a tasting event. Every note of Spanish guitar tells a story of family tragedy, loss, and ongoing suffering that’s made Royal afraid to lean on anyone…even if he needs Tessa’s sweet flavor more than the richest wine. Only her strength can save him when his world crumbles to ashes. But has Royal learned trust too late to claim Tessa as his own?

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Find Ashes and Wine

Amazon     Barnes & Noble

About Taryn Elliott

Taryn Elliott is from the great state of New York—upstate NY, thank you very much. Her family consists of a brother who takes care of keeping the snarky side of her alive and a dog that is more spoiled child than mutt. She counts her writer-friends as the glue that keeps her crazy ideas more in the sane category, and her non-writerly friends as the reason she’s not a complete hermit.

She can’t go a day without laughing, and falls in love with each and every one of her leading men as she’s writing their book. Music is life and every story has its own soundtrack.

Taryn is shamelessly addicted to the internet and adores hearing from readers. You can email her at taryn@tarynelliott.com or find her on most social media outlets via her website, www.tarynelliott.com.

Find Taryn Elliott

website     Twitter     Goodreads     Facebook

Giveaway

Enter to win a Facebook banner, iceon, Twitter background, and Website topper from Taryn through this Rafflecopter widget. The giveaway runs through November 16th. You can also win a copy of Ashes and Wine over at my review.

One comment

Leave a Reply

