Giveaway and Interview with January St. Davis from ‘Determinant’

Introducing January St. Davis, the not-quite-a-damsel in distress from Determinant by A. M. Hargrove.

Did you grow up in Atlanta or were you there for college?

No, I grew up in Spartanburg, SC which is only about three hours away from Atlanta.  I was in Atlanta for the summer to do my internship at the CDC.  I actually went to college at Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, NC.

What would you like to do with your degree?

I initially wanted to go to medical school, but with having to work and go to school, my grades slipped.  So then I decided to change my major to Microbiology.  My dream job would have been to end up working at the CDC to study resistance patterns of bacteria and try to figure out how to prevent that from happening.  That was all before Rykerian *smiles*

You left home at 16. Can you tell us a bit about that?

Wow. That’s a difficult one to answer.  It was a terrible time in my life and I don’t like to think about it.  I still wonder how anyone could do that to their child.  Anyway, I guess in many ways, I was lucky I met the Campbells, and then of course, Rykerian.

What type of internship did you have with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention?

My internship was really cool. I was working with the influenza virus strains, looking at the patterns from the previous years to help predict what the future years would be.  There are always patterns with this disease and they are based on what happened the previous years.  It was my job to look at the strains that were prevalent the prior years and then to catalogue each strain.  When I became ill, that’s why I first thought I had the flu.

What is the first thing you thought when you saw Rykerian Yarrister?

Wow!  Just wow.  And then I kept wondering why someone like him would have in interest in someone like me.  Then I didn’t want to trust him because of my past.  I didn’t want to put myself in a position of getting hurt.

What is your general impression of the Guardians of Vesturon?

They’re amazing.  They put their lives in danger to help others without question.  They are such honorable people. I never knew people like them existed.  I guess that’s why it was so hard for me to trust Rykerian in the beginning.

What was the scariest moment of your life?

When I knew something bad had happened to Rykerian, Therron and Xarrid because I could feel Rykerian’s pain, but I didn’t know what.  I hurt so badly, and I didn’t know what was going on.  It was horrific for me.  When Jurek brought him home alive I was so relieved, but when I looked at his face, the pain was so intense, I almost hit the floor.

Do you have any role models?

My sister-in-law Maddie is my role model. She has helped me adjust to my new life so much, I don’t know what I would have done without her.  My new found sister, Athyna, is also a role model for me.  They are both incredibly strong yet honorable women and I have learned so much from them

What are you passionate about?

That’s easy! My mate and my son.  I won’t let anyone get in between me and them. If anyone tries, they better watch out!

If you could have any super power, what would it be?

I would love to be like my great friend Jurek, and be able to shift into energy.  He is so amazing and powerful and he can soar across the universe in seconds in his energy form.  I envy him that power. It’s like being your own teleporter without limitations.

About Determinant (The Guardians of Vesturon #3)

January St. Davis, on her own since the age of sixteen and struggling to stay in college, thinks she’s scored in a major way when she lands a paid summer internship at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta.  One evening, after working an especially long shift, a chance encounter with a group of mysterious men alters the course of her life.

Rykerian Yarrister, a Guardian of Vesturon with unearthly powers and impossibly gorgeous looks, finds himself at odds over the human female he recently saved from certain death.  When it seems he is on the verge of winning her over, she is ripped from his hands by a strange and powerful being, threatening to destroy her if his demands are not met.

Do Rykerian and the Guardians have the ability to meet this fierce barbarian’s ultimatums, or will January suffer a horrid demise?

Find Determinant

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     iTunes     Smashwords     Facebook

About A. M. Hargrove

One day, on her way home from work as a sales manager, A. M. Hargrove, realized her life was on fast forward and if she didn’t do something soon, it would quickly be too late to write that work of fiction she had been dreaming of her whole life.  So, she rolled down the passenger window of her fabulous (not) company car and tossed out her leather briefcase.  Luckily, the pedestrian in the direct line of fire was a dodgeball pro and had über quick reflexes enabling him to avoid getting bashed in the head.  Feeling a tad guilty about the near miss, A. M. made a speedy turn down a deserted side street before tossing her crummy, outdated piece-of-you-know-what laptop out the window.   She breathed a liberating sigh of relief, picked up her cell phone and hit #4 on her speed dial.

 A.M.’s Boss:  Hello.

A.M:  Hey Boss, I’m calling to let you know you can pick up my luxury Ford Focus at Starbucks near the interstate.

A.M.’s Boss:  Why ever would I want to do that?

A.M.:  Because I quit!

A.M. hit the end button and speed dialed her husband.

A.M.:  Hey hubs, can you pick me up at Starbucks?

A.M.’s Hubs:  Sure…having some car trouble?

A.M.:  Not at all.  I don’t have a car to have trouble with because I just quit my job.

A.M.’s Hubs:  WHAT?!

A.M.:  It’s time for a new career and I am going to be a very famous novelist.

So began A. M. Hargrove’s career as a young adult paranormal romance author of self-published ebooks.  Her series, The Guardians of Vesturon, centers around a family of six siblings and is a mix of humor, mystery, suspense and of course, love.  SurvivalResurrection, and Determinant are her first, second, and third full length novels, and Beginnings is her prequel novella to the series.

(It didn’t really happen like that, but you get the idea!)

Find A. M. Hargrove

Blog     website     Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads     Fan Club

Giveaway

Enter to win a $25 gift card and ecopies of A. M. Hargrove’s books at this link. The giveaway ends on December 2, 2012.

6 comments

  1. Well I have to know will they find their way back together? LOL Thank you for sharing with us today. I am looking forward to more from Determinant.

  2. For some reason my comment from the other day was never posted so I’m terribly sorry this is so late. Thanks so much for being a part of the tour and for inviting January to stop by for an interview! She told me she had a great time 😉 Annie xx

Leave a Reply

