Interview with Brina Courtney, Author of ‘Summer in Salem’

Brina Courtney talks Cryptids, mellow music, and her new novel, Summer in Salem.

What inspired you to write Summer in Salem and use Salem as the setting?

I visited Salem as a child and I have always been interested in Wicca and witches. I decided to put my own spin on Wicca by taking it back to Salem and connecting it to Ireland.

What was your favorite scene to write?

The murder scene… it was hard but I was really happy with it when I was done.

Did you title Summer in Salem or the Electi series first?

Summer in Salem, then I decided on the Electi name after some research.

What authors have had the most influence on your writing?

None, it’s my favorite thing about writing, you can be truly original.

What is your ideal writing environment?

On my couch in my office/ den. Quiet and peaceful.

Do you prefer to plot out your stories or see where the characters lead you?

The characters lead me, but I write my endings first so I know where we’re going.

What kind of music do you listen to? Who are some of your favorite bands?

I like mellow tunes: Adele, Florence and the Machine, Colbie Calliet, Micheal Tolcher, Sara Barellis.

What books are in your to-be read pile?

I want to re-read the Twilight books before the last movie comes out! (Not gonna happen though, I need to sleep sometimes)

What is your favorite paranormal creature?

Cryptids (check out my other series) they’re all so different and they all have real possibilities of being real.

About Summer in Salem (Electi #1)

Teagen’s summer has been turned upside down by a body, a pentagram necklace, and an old flame.

Nine months ago, Teagan Matthews’ boyfriend disappeared and took her sense of stability with him. But when the opportunity to live with her aging grandmother in Salem arises, she decides it’s time to get on with her life. A new home, new job and new friends are adding up to a beautiful summer…

…until a young girl’s body shows up one night in town, wearing a necklace exactly like Teagan’s.

Now a guy looking remarkably like her missing boyfriend has arrived in Salem along with a mysterious stranger who may have some answers that Teagan has desperately been searching for. Teagan must now decide who to trust. It’s a matter of life and her death.

Genre: Young Adult

Summer In Salem (Electi #1)

About Brina Courtney

Brina Courtney is a young adult author obsessed with chocolate, crime shows, and fantasy movies. She’s spent the last few years as an elementary teacher and a high school cheering coach. She lives in a small town in Pennsylvania with her husband and two very loud, small dogs.

Find Brina Courtney

Twitter     Goodreads     blog     Amazon

Giveaway

Win an ecopy of Summer in Salem and a swag bag through the Rafflecopter widget at this link.

One comment

Leave a Reply

