Interview with Drake from ‘Blood Debt’ by Nancy Straight

Drake from Blood Debt fills us in on what life is like when you are a centaur.

Hi Drake, it’s such a pleasure to meet with you!

Jessica, *eyebrows raise* I had no idea you would be so lovely.  Nancy told me about your blog, but I wasn’t expecting to be interviewed by such an enchanting lady.  Thank you for inviting me today.

It’s my pleasure, Drake. Why don’t we start off with a little bit about your background. Can you tell us about your family?

Hmmm, my family. . . I am one of the few Centaurs who comes from a small family.  My immediate family is just my parents and myself.  My parents share a construction business in the Charleston, SC area.  Mom is a great.  She’s a Centauride, of course; she’s  thoughtful, kind, and willing to go to any length to make sure things work out well for me.  In fact, she’s the reason that Camille never gave up on me when some really horrible things happened in Blood Debt.  My father, *grits teeth* he’s a good provider; we don’t always see eye-to-eye on things.

If you could apologize to someone from your past, who would it be?

I try never to do anything I’ll regret later.  Yes, *smiles wide* you could think of me as a wall flower.  Maybe, an apology to a human girl in the ninth grade, who asked me to a school dance; I had to decline.  Her name was Sara. . . something.  I’m afraid I don’t remember her very well.  She was disappointed, but fraternizing with humans is strictly forbidden.  I remember seeing her around the hallways throughout high school, but we never spoke after that incident.  If I had a chance to apologize I would let her know that it wasn’t her, I wasn’t permitted to go to any social functions.

You are entangled in a forbidden love with Camille.  Why is it forbidden?

Ahhh, you cut right to the chase, don’t you?  Well, let’s see.  Centaurs *points to chest* don’t have the same dating rituals that humans enjoy.  Most of our marriages are arranged where *gulps* love, is not much of a factor.  The Centaurs (males) have no say in who we marry.  The Centaurides (female) make a selection from eligible bachelors.  When Camille and I met, I had already been chosen by Bianca.

Did you do anything special to help Camille come to terms with or learn about her centaur bloodline?

Camille, *face lights up* has had a challenging life until now, well . . . it’s challenging now, too.  She was raised human, so many of our customs are not only foreign, they are antiquated by human standards.  Helping Camille come to terms has been less of a priority than finding stolen moments to be with her *blush*.  If anything, she’s taught me about living for something more than my bloodline.  I love that she still thinks like a human.  The freedom humans have is intoxicating  and I’m less interested in her giving up the things that make her who she is.

What is something people would be surprised to know about you?

Beyond being a Centaur?  *Nods* Right, well. . . I work for my father’s construction business during the week and volunteer for Habitat for Humanity on the weekends.  *Eyebrows raise*  Not enough of a surprise?  Let’s see, I have a private pilot’s license.  When we were younger, a friend and I used to rent a plane for a weekend and go skiing in North Carolina for weekends.  *Shakes head*  Sorry, Jessica, I guess I’m not full of surprises.

Drake, I think you are full of surprises. Unfortunately, we’re almost out of time, so let’s do some quick this-or-that questions. Morning person or night owl?

Definitely night owl.

Sweet or salty?

Sweet. I love Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!

Beach, mountains, or the plains?

Beach, In fact, Folly Beach in South Carolina is one of my favorite spots in the summer time.

City, suburbs, or the country?

Country, a Centaur needs room to run.

Be on stage or sit in the audience?

Sit in the audience.

Thanks so much for taking time out to meet with me, Drake!

About Blood Debt

Her whole life, it had just been the two of them. Before her mother’s last breath, she gave Camille the information she had craved her entire life: the identity of her father. Daring to contact him, Camille was welcomed by an entire family she never knew existed. But nothing comes without a price, as she discovers when her family claims a legendary heritage tracing back to a Centaur touched by Zeus.

As she learns the secrets of her Centaur bloodline, she is drawn into a forbidden love with Drake. Her family acknowledges her life may be the blood debt required to pay for her mother’s transgressions. The same person who once held her mother captive, and forced her into decades of hiding, now controls Camille. Her only chance is to seek a piece of her mother’s past that will win her freedom and the life she desperately desires.

Blood Debt
Genre: Paranormal romance

About the Author

Nancy was born in Sioux City Iowa, left the cold of the Midwest in 1991 and only returns to see family in the summer time. She spent ten years traveling the world as a US Marine and settled in rural SC.  She has two fantastic son, three rotten dogs and an amazing husband.  When not writing she enjoys RVing with her family, swimming and reading all types of romance genres.  Her favorite is paranormal romance.

Amazon     Blog     Twitter     Goodreads     Facebook

One comment

Leave a Reply

