Giveaway: Owlet (Society of Feathers #1) by Emma Michaels

Emma Michaels shares her artwork–a picture of Iris, the heroine in her novel, Owlet.

This was my final sketch of Iris before I started writing my final draft of Owlet. While my other sketches feature her with the dark hair from my original drafts, this drawing inspired me to look past how I would want her to look and into how she really would look if she were a real girl. I realized that she didn’t have dark hair because like me, she thought it was beautiful, it was something she envied but her own hair was the opposite, a light blonde that made no contrast to her light skin color and wasn’t the easiest hair in the world to manage but not as difficult as it could be.

In this sketch it shows her standing on top of a rock wall and letting herself enjoy the moment as the wind whips her hair behind her and she starts to fall forward. Growing up I had a family member who had a high brick wall in the back of her house and I was always told to stop playing on it because while I had great balance, I was also a bit of a klutz. I either didn’t mess up on anything at all or I messed up catastrophically. There was no real middle ground. I always wanted to go to the very edge and just let myself drop because while I would hate the scrapes, or worse, I wondered what it would feel like to fly.

Now, that might sound morbid but Iris also has a fascination with flying. Each night in her dreams she jumps from her balcony and flies to a mysterious island. That island is her sanctuary from the world, but it is something she can never have really torments her. She knows she isn’t normally and can’t do what others can but she hopes  deep down that maybe that is because part of her is extraordinary to make up for it. While she may not know it yet, she is right.

This moment was inspired by the freedom of letting yourself fall without knowing the consequences and without fear, because sometimes you have to fall to fly.

Owlet Read Along

Every blog in the Owlet blog tour has a portion of the story that, when read sequentially, culminates in an extended excerpt. Below is the excerpt for this stop, but check out everyone on the tour for more.

Iris realized as soon as she thought the words that they were true, so she let herself stop fighting and welcomed that truth. Who am I? Start out simple. My name is Iris. My father’s name is Roger. We ate pancakes every Sunday morning and tried every type of syrup we could find other than peach because I am allergic. He tucked me in every night until I was too old, and still kept walking me to my room. He taught me how to play board games and, instead of letting me win, he taught me how to always succeed. He held me when I was crying and…I want my daddy.

Iris didn’t care if her thoughts were childish anymore. She wanted her father to hold her and tell her the truth, the full truth, and to let her process it with him there by her side. She didn’t want to be on some strange island, she wanted to be with him as he explained everything to her openly and honestly. She wanted him to help her sort out her own feelings, and even if it had only been a few nights, she still missed him. Above all she wanted to forgive him, but she finally realized that she couldn’t stand the fact that although he had been her entire world, that world had been built on nothing but lies.

Almost completely unable to breathe, Iris struggled to stand and began walking back to find Diana. Her feelings for Falcon would have to wait.

Suddenly the dizziness overwhelmed her. Tripping over the weathered wooden planks, Iris fell into the water face first.

“Iris!”

About Owlet (Society of Feathers #1)

Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.

Amazon     B&N     iBookstore     Smashwords     PayLoadz     Twitter     Goodreads

About the Author

Emma Michaels is the author of the ‘A Sense of Truth’ and ‘Society of Feathers’ series. Her goal with her latest YA novel ‘Owlet’ is to give others what she did not have growing up; a strong female protagonist with asthma.  While her previous aspiration was to be a lady knight she realized that not being able to run more than a few feet might become a hindrance so turned to writing instead. Her day jobs include being a cover artist, marketing consultant and silk screen designer.

As the founder of The Writers Voice blog, she loves to connect authors and readers. As a book blogger turned author, she was born and raised in Los Angeles, California, until she moved at eighteen to Washington State. Suddenly, the world was a new place filled with tall green trees that reached further for the sky with every moment, making her want to do the same. Ever since, she has tried to make her life something new and different from what it was before, pursuing her future career, setting high goals and reaching for them. With the support of her fiancé, Chihuahua, and her amazing blog followers and fellow bloggers, she wants to prove to the world that anything is possible and help inspire fellow literary lovers to reach for their dreams.

Facebook     Twitter     website     Goodreads

Giveaway

My, oh, my there is a lot to win here! Owlet swag bags, Kindle versions of the book, original sketches by Emma Michaels, $10 Amazon gift cards, jewelry, and more. Enter with the Rafflecopter widget at this link. The giveaway ends on December 31, 2012.

About Tribute Books

website     Facebook     Twitter

3 comments

  1. This book looks great! I love the cover and excerpt. Thank for the chance to win!

    This tour has just been great. I’m really enjoying getting to see all the art and information about this book. I can’t wait to read it.

    -Brooke Banks

Leave a Reply

