Giveaway and Interview with Candace Jane Kringle from ‘North Pole High’

Candace Jane Kringle aka Candycane Clause dishes on life at the North Pole, toys too controversial to make it out of the Arctic, and her memoir, North Pole High: A Rebel without a Clause.

What inspired you to write a memoir?

I’ve always loved reading, and my English teacher, Miss Pandabaker, has encouraged my writing since the 9th grade. Plus, I really do enjoy answering questions about my life whenever I’m on tour with my dad. So after all the crazy, unbelievable events that led up to the crisis last Christmas, I just had to set the record straight about a few things, and a book seemed like the best way to do that.

Have you ever considered writing fiction?

Absolutely. I have tons of original story ideas that don’t involve Christmas at all. But with a name like Kringle, readers will expect more true Christmas stories from me, so I might have to publish my fiction under my rap name, “Triple-C” (for Candycane Claus).

What is it like having one of the most beloved toy givers on the planet as your dad?

I kind of covered a lot of the negative stuff in the book, so I should point out here that I do get to play with every toy ever made, including ones that never made it out of the Arctic Circle for one reason or another, like Rudolph’s E-Z Venison Maker, the Krystal The North Pole-Dancer doll, and the Special Limited Edition Lorena Bobbitt Nutcracker.

I can see why those gifts would be held back! Do you aspire to have a Christmas-related job after you graduate?

I have no intention of taking over my father’s job, if that’s what you’re getting at. Fortunately, he gets to live forever so he’ll never have to retire. But yes, I do hope to one day find my own way to spread Christmas cheer throughout the land.

Rudi Tutti, your crush in North Pole High, does not like Christmas. Are there many people who live at the North Pole but do not enjoy the holiday?

I have to admit, he is an anomaly.

Does North Pole High have an underlying message that you hope readers grasp?

Obviously the biggest lesson learned in the book is the importance of regular checkups with your dentist. Ho ho ho!

Do you have a song that you consider to be the theme of the novel?

“The Men In My Little Girl’s Life” by Mike Douglas.

You have a particular interest in unicorn races. Could you tell us a little more about them? Do you ride the unicorns?

LOL. I’m way too tall to ride the unicorns. Only elves can jockey. The races are held at the Tannenbaum Bowl every year during the Daylight season, when the elves have more free time. The sport is a combination of horse racing and bullfighting. We bet on which unicorns will spear the most opponents (unicorns and elves) during the race. Of course, as everyone knows, their horns emit a healing serum whenever they stab anything, so nobody gets hurt. But it’s hilarious to watch them slide into each other all over the ice track.

If you could have any super power, what would it be?

There’s a high probability that one day I’ll be able to see you when you’re sleeping and know when you’re awake. For now, I wish I could read boys’ minds. I can’t figure them out at all.

What is your favorite Young Adult book?

I loved The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Delirium by Lauren Oliver, but I think my favorite is a less well-known series by Heather Swain (Me, My Elf & I and Selfish Elf Wish) about an teenage elf who moves to New York to attend a performing arts high school. She’s nothing like the real elves here in the North Pole, but it’s really funny.

About North Pole High: A Rebel without a Clause

MEET SIXTEEN-YEAR-OLD CANDYCANE CLAUS. She’s the most popular girl at North Pole High. Her father is world-famous. And every day is Christmas. What more could any girl want?

BOYS! And the new boy, Rudy Tutti, is hot chocolate. But he hates anything to do with Christmas!

When Candy and Rudy are forced to work together on a school Christmas-tree project, her world is turned upside down: Her grades start to suffer, she loses her taste for ice cream, and now the two North-Star-cross’d teens must contend with her overprotective father — Santa Claus — before Christmas is ruined for EVERYONE!

Genre: YA romance/humor/fantasy

Amazon US     Kindle     Amazon France      Kindle     Amazon Italy     Kindle     Amazon UK     Kindle     Amazon Germany     Kindle     Amazon Spain     Kindle

About the Author

Candace Jane Kringle is a junior at North Pole High. She likes candy canes, unicorn races, and making snow angels. Her father is the most well-known and beloved toymaker and distributor in the world. Her memoir, North Pole High: A Rebel Without a Claus, is her first book. After high school, she plans to enroll at North Pole University and write more books.

website     Twitter     Goodreads     Facebook     Pintrest

Giveaway

Win an ebook copy of North Pole High: A Rebel without a Clause by completing the tasks in this Rafflecopter. The giveaway ends on December and is open internationally.

4 comments

  1. I dont have a favorite memoir but North Pole High sounds like its going to become my favorite .THis book sounds great Im looking forward to picking it up.Have an amazing weekend

Leave a Reply

