Interview with Alyssa Rose Ivy, Author of ‘Veer’

Author Alyssa Rose Ivy on Veer and her Clayton Falls series.

The Clayton Falls novels seem to focus on different characters. Will each novel in the series focus on a different person?

Each book in the series will focus on a different couple. Although Derailed is a single person narrative, Veer is told from both Becca and Gavin’s POV. The third book in the series, Wrecked, will be Jake’s story.

What inspired you to use North Carolina as the setting for Veer?

I live in North Carolina. I love small towns, and having grown up near the water, I really wanted to set these books in a small coastal town.

How long did Veer take you to write?

Veer took only a few months to write. I started working on it right after I finished Derailed this past summer.

Do you base your writing on your own past experiences?

Yes and no. Some of my books feature aspects from my past. For example, I went to law school, and I used some of that past experience when writing about Molly and Becca in the Clayton Falls books. Probably the best example is my Crescent Chronicles series. I went to college in New Orleans, and those books have a lot of personal tidbits in them. However, the core of my books is fiction.

Would Veer make a good movie?

I think it would. I think the story could be told from a visual medium, and the characters would be really fun to watch on screen.

What made you start writing?

I’ve been writing all of my life, but I finally decided to publish when I wrote a story I absolutely had to share. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. I absolutely love sharing my stories with everyone.

Do you have any critique partners?

I work closely with Jennifer Snyder. (She’s a YA contemporary and paranormal author.) You can find out more about her and her books on her blog.

What is your favorite New Adult novel?

My favorite New Adult novel is Flat- Out Love by Jessica Park. It is such a fun story, and I absolutely love the characters.

Can you tell us a little about your family?

I’m married and have two young children. My daughter is 3 +1/2 and my son is fourteen months. They’re a lot of work but also a lot of fun!

If you weren’t an author, what would you be?

Right now I’d probably still be home with my kids, but my background is in law and library science. If I weren’t writing and went back to work, it would probably be as a librarian.

About Veer (Clayton Falls #2)

Only when you let go can you learn to live.

Between the death of her mother and pushing through law school without her best friend, it’s been a tough year for Becca. Needing a break from Boston, she moves to a tiny coastal North Carolina town for a relaxing summer. After bumping heads repeatedly with a local cop, she realizes her summer will be anything but quiet.

Three years after a career ending injury ruins his chance to play Major League Baseball, Gavin has a distrust of northerners and lately girls in general. He wants nothing to do with a girl who is only in town for the summer.

When the two give in to their impossible attraction, they realize that they may just have found the key to freeing themselves from the ghosts of their pasts.

Genre: New Adult, Romance

Veer

About the Author

alyssa rose ivyAlyssa Rose Ivy is a Young Adult and New Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.

website     Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads     Pintrest     Amazon

One comment

Leave a Reply

