Beating Cold Season Organically

Yesterday, I woke up feeling like I had the work out of my life the day before. I hadn’t, but I do have loved ones who have the flu and my aching muscles, swollen glands, and sore throat were hinting that I might be the next one to succumb to the virus. I immediately pulled out some herbs and spices that I knew would help me and today I woke up feeling back to normal. Here’s what I’ve used so you can hopefully beat out any germs coming your way this winter.

Garlic, Ginger, Honey Shots

Less of a shot, more of a spoonful, I just call it that because I have to really throw it back as soon as it’s in my mouth of the taste would get to me. All you do it crush a clove of garlic with a fork and put on a tablespoon. Grate some ginger on top of the garlic and fill the rest of the spoon with honey. When you swallow it right from the spoon without tasting it, you just experience a honey aftertaste and skip the raw garlic and ginger. You can feel this mixture working right away with a comforting warmth that extends from your stomach up to your chest. Whenever I think I might be getting sick, I do one of these each day and so far it’s helped ward off most illnesses. Why?

Garlic: A natural antibiotic capable of destroying bacteria, fungi, and viruses, garlic can be taken everyday to boost your health and your body won’t build up an immunity to it like it does with an antibiotic. It also lowers cholesterol, does big things for your circulatory system, and forms the amino acid allicin, another powerful antibiotic, when crushed (or chopped) and consumed raw. Cooking kills allicin and the amino acid dissipates after sitting so make sure you’re using fresh raw garlic, not the jarred, pre-minced stuff.

Ginger: There are 12 antioxidants in this versatile root. You can rub it on skin to relieve pain (or a sore throat). Its antiviral properties help fight colds and the flu. It is also an anti inflammatory and relieves joint pain, arthritis, rheumatism, and osteoarthritis; helps with digestion to relieve nausea, bloating, and gas; provides you with calcium, fiber, protein, potassium, magnesium, and phosphorus; and, according to the University of Maryland, help fight cancer. It also helps relieve the pain of headaches and migraines, thins the blood, is a natural cough suppressant, and help stop menstrual craps by acting as a anti-spasmodic.

Honey: Raw honey is amazing. It is great for digestion, contains a slew of minerals (B6, thiamin, niacin, riboflavin, amino acids, calcium, zinc, copper, iron, potassium, magnesium, and manganese), and contains naturally occurring sugars that are absorbed slowly so your blood sugar won’t spike. Other amazing facts about this super food:

  • It helps pre-digest starchy foods.
  • It contains 5,000 live enzymes.
  • It is an antioxidant and immune system booster.
  • It helps metabolize cholesterol and fatty acids.
  • Use it as a sugar replacement!
  • It provides energy.

If you don’t use raw honey, the nutrients, minerals, and enzymes are processed out.

Leave a Reply

