Review: Seventh Generation Natural 4X Laundry Detergent

When I decided I wanted to live a greener, less-chemical-laden lifestyle most of my first steps focused on laundry and cleaning. Having rid my laundry room of fabric softener and dryer sheets, a detergent made from natural ingredients was my next step. I turned to Seventh Generation, a company that makes a whole array of natural household and personal care products, and chose their Natural 4X Laundry Detergent with Geranium Blossoms and Vanilla scent (scent-free is also an option). It is composed of plant enzymes, so it is as biodegradable as its packaging. You won’t find optical brighteners, dyes, or synthetic fragrances; in fact, the formula is non-toxic. It is also made to be used in standard and HE washing machines.

The detergent’s compostable packaging is completely unique and it stood out on the shelf in Shop Rite. When you finish up the bottle (which will take awhile since it delivers 66 medium-sized loads), you remove the outer shell and chuck the plastic bad inside. This method reminds me of the plastic bags of hand soap inside the dispensers in public restrooms. With all of the excess water out of the detergent’s formula, the bottle is lighter than those plastic jugs.

While I’ve never completely minded the smell of other laundry detergents, I love the way the Geranium Blossom and Vanilla scent smells. It’s missing that almost too sweet undertone that I smell in other fragrances.

And, as for cleaning the clothes? The detergent was great. My clothes were super soft and smelled fabulous. I could only smell the detergent’s scent a little bit, which is perfect.

5 stars

Leave a Reply

