Giveaway and Interview with ‘Everville: The First Pillar’ Author Roy Huff

Debut author Roy Huff talks about writing, publishing, and his novel, Everville: The First Pillar.

What was your favorite scene to write?

My favorite scene is when Owen discovers “The Other In Between”. I think it is a very unique description of a dark fantasy realm.

Did Everville‘s title change at all?

I added The First Pillar after I realized Clive Barker had a similar title and when I decided to create a series instead of a stand-alone book.

What kinds of research did you have to do?

I didn’t do much research for this book. I drew upon my own knowledge and experience. It was also a fiction piece in a fantasy realm so much of it was pure thought creation. The only real research was finding mythical names.

What was your favorite part of publishing your novel?

My favorite part was when it actually became available for purchase. It was a momentous occasion.

If Everville became a movie, who would you cast?

That’s a tough question, but I would definitely have Peter Jackson direct it.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write in first person. I am more descriptive than some, think Harry Potter. I usually have a broad theme then I start writing. As I get farther along in the book, I take notes so I don’t forget important elements. I usually create an outline about 2/3’rd of the way through since I need to tie in diverging plot lines.

Do you have a method for developing your characters (a list of attributes, character sketch, etc.) or do you let them develop as they write?

I develop them as I write.

What are you currently reading?

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

What kind of music do you listen to?

I like most genres. I am partial to Top 40 and Classic Rock.

What are 3 words that describe you?

Optimistic, opinionated, futurist

About The First Pillar

Owen Sage is the emblematic college freshman at Easton Falls University. He studies hard, plays hard, and is incredibly charming. With all the worries about his first year in college, he was not prepared for what would happen next. His way of life was flipped upside down when he was drawn into a different world, a world unbeknownst to him. He mysteriously crossed into another dimension, into the beautiful land of Everville. His tragic excitement was abruptly halted when he discovered that there was a darkness forged against both the natural world, which he knew well, and the new land which he discovered, Everville. He must devise a plan to save both worlds while joining forces with the race of Fron and The Keepers, whom both harbor hidden secrets he must learn in order to gain power over the evil that dwells in The Other In Between.

With a race against time to save both worlds, his short time at Easton Falls did not quite prepare him for the evil, dark forces he must fight in order to conquer The Other In Between.

Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction

Amazon (Get it for free until Thursday, 2/14)     Goodreads

About the Author

Roy Huff is the author of the epic fantasy novel Everville: The First Pillar. He holds five degrees in four separate fields including liberal arts, history, secondary science education, and geoscience. Roy Huff has backgrounds in art, history, education, business, real-estate, economics, geoscience, and satellite meteorology. He was born on the East Coast but has spent more than half his life in Honolulu.

Goodreads     website

Giveaway

Win a signed ARC of The First Pillar through this Rafflecopter. The giveaway ends on February 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

