Coconut Oil Deep Conditioner

Your skin isn’t the only body part craving for extra moisture during the cold, dry air of winter. Keep your hair soft, shiny, and frizz-free without using a chemical-filled deep conditioner. Coconut oil is a cheap and easy replacement, and it leaves your hair soft, supple, and shiny. It is safe for all hair types, including fine hair (like mine) and people with oily scalps.

All you do is buy some extra virgin coconut oil (I used Spectrum’s). Using the oil in its white, solid form, massage it onto your hair beginning at the ends. (If you have oily hair, keep it away from your roots!) You can also massage it into your scalp. Then, comb it through your hair and you’re done. You can let it soak in for as little as 30 minutes, but you can also sleep with it in and wash it out the next morning.

The first time I tried it, I only left it in for an hour (what the jar suggests) and my hair was softer, but I expected more. After that I always let it soak in for a few hours before I wash it out. My hair is always super soft afterwards though it sometimes takes a bit to wash it all away. Organic Authority suggests rinsing it out and then washing and conditioning like normal, but I find I need a little shampoo it get it all out.

Unless your hair is really dry or color treated, I wouldn’t do this conditioner more than bi-weekly.

Why is coconut oil so good for your locks? It helps hair retain protein, which keeps it strong. Coconut oil also repels water, which is why you apply it before washing so it can penetrate your hair shaft more deeply as its moisture causes their hair to swell.

 

Leave a Reply

