Giveaway and Interview with K. A. Last

K. A. Last reveals what she thinks of Buffy, reminds us of the difference between your and you’re, and discusses her novel, Fall for Me.

What inspired you to have angels act as vampire hunters?

I love reading about vampires, and I love reading about angels. I hadn’t come across any books that had both these elements, and when I set out to write Fall for Me, I knew I wanted and needed something a little different. Something that I personally hadn’t seen done before. I’m not saying that it hasn’t, because there are so many books out there, but for me it seemed like the logical thing to do. Essentially, angels are good, and vampires are bad, so it made sense to have my angels hunting the bad guys.

Is this story a stand-alone or will it be part of a series?

Fall for Me is the first installment of what I plan to be a three part series called The Tate Chronicles. I’m about a third of the way through the first draft for the sequel, Fight for Me, and I hope to have it published by the end of the year. That’s the plan anyway!

Did you title the book first or wait until Fall for Me was completed?

I went through a few different titles for this book. It originally started out as Fall from Grace, then The Vampire Guardian. At one stage it was Hunted, but none of the working titles seemed to fit the story properly. Once I was further into it and I knew what was going to happen in the end, Fall for Me came and stayed.

Which character was the hardest to write?

Fall for Me is written from two alternating POVs. I did this because I knew I had so many things I wanted to happen in the story that the reader couldn’t possibly know about if it was told by one person. I had a great time getting inside Grace’s head, and found it easier to write from her perspective. Josh’s POV was the hardest to write. I think mainly because I’m not a guy, so I spent a lot of time worrying and wondering if what I was putting on the page was believable. But, once a big event happened, Josh really opened up to me and I loved writing from his POV towards the end. I think I’ve got my work cut out for me in the next book. We’ll get to hear from Seth as well, which I’m really excited about.

What is your ideal writing environment?

I have a nice comfy leather rocker-recliner that I love to sit in at night with my laptop. The TV is usually on for background noise, and I need a nice hot cup of tea next to me, as well as some chocolate. When I write during the day it’s usually at my desktop PC in my office, so I put my iPod on random out in the kitchen just for some background noise. I still need a cup of tea next to me though. When the office gets too stuffy I might take my laptop outside for a while. I find that a change of scenery can help if I’m stuck on something.

What POV do you prefer to write in? Why?

I prefer to write in first person because I enjoy reading first person narratives. When I first started writing Fall for Me, I originally began in third person, but it just didn’t sit comfortably with me. When I made the decision to switch to first person POV, I then had the problem of how to tell my story with all the details that one main character wouldn’t necessarily know. Grace may be able to hear thoughts, but she doesn’t know everything! So I decided to have two main characters and tell the story from both their POVs. I really enjoyed the flexibility this gave me and I think it adds a great dimension to the characters. In saying all that, I also like third person POV. The prologue is written in third person, and I loved writing this part of the book as well.

Who is your favorite kick-ass heroine?

I am a huge Buffy fan. She just rocks!

Do you have any pet peeves?

Another interviewer also asked me this question and I found it quite hard to narrow it down. That makes me sound like I have heaps of pet peeves; it’s not that, I just try not to let things get to me. But, something that annoys me all the time is people using the words you’re and your incorrectly. I always think of Friends and “The One with the Jellyfish” episode. It cracks me up every time.

Who should play you in a movie about your life?

Really? This is a hard question. Personally, I don’t think my life is interesting enough for a movie to be made about it. If the screenwriter elaborated on some events to make them super exciting, I’d cast either Eliza Dushku, or Jessica Alba. They are both really kick-ass chicks. I can be quite competitive with myself, and I guess I could be just as awesome as these girls—although not nearly as pretty.

What can readers expect next from you?

As I mentioned before, I’m currently in the drafting stage of the next installment in The Tate Chronicles, and I’m hoping to have Fight for Me published by the end of the year. I also have a sci-fi story that needs completing, and a fantasy that’s currently doing drawer time and needs to be pulled out and spruced up. Ideas are something I get on a daily basis, so hopefully my readers will be hearing from me again very soon.

About Fall for Me

“Angels aren’t supposed to fall in love, especially with each other. But for the record, you were worth it.”

Grace Tate is a Protection Angel and Vampire Hunter, and she has always followed the rules. But some rules are made to be broken…

Until now the fight against evil has been simple, and falling in love was never part of the plan. So what happens when it’s beyond Grace’s control, and when she least expects it she falls for the wrong person?

All hell breaks loose, that’s what.

At Hopetown Valley High, not everything is as it seems, and the one person Grace thought was her enemy becomes her most important ally.

Blood will be shed, lives will be lost and friendships will be tested. It all comes down to one decision, and when Grace tries to save all those dear to her, she realizes not everyone can be—or wants to be—saved.

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Goodreads     Amazon Kindle     Amazon paperback     Smashwords

About the Author

K. A. Last was born in Subiaco, Western Australia, and moved to Sydney with her parents and older brother when she was eight. Artistic and creative by nature, she studied Graphic Design and graduated with an Advanced Diploma. After marrying her high school sweetheart, she concentrated on her career before settling into family life. Blessed with a vivid imagination, she began writing to let off creative steam, and fell in love with it. She now resides in a peaceful leafy suburb north of Sydney with her husband, their two children, and a rabbit named Twitch.

website     Twitter     Facebook     Goodreads     Amazon

Giveaway

Win one of 3 great prizes through this Rafflecopter. The giveaway ends on February 28, 2013.

First prize: An ebook copy of Fall for Me, a pair of silver tone angel wing earrings with diamante accents, and a Fall for Me bookmark

Second Prize: $10 Amazon Kindle gift card

Third Prize: 1 of 5 Fall For Me bookmarks

7 comments

Leave a Reply

