Giveaway and Ending a Series with Mary Abshire

Author Mary Abshire dishes on what it is like to end a series based on her experience wrapping up her Project Eve series.

The Quest is the second book in the Project Eve series. Like the first book, there is mystery, suspense, and plenty of action. My main character finally knows her name and what she is, but she has many issues to resolve. She wants to know who stole her memories, but most importantly, she wants justice for the deaths at the dump and everything taken from her.

I ended the first book, The Awakening, with unanswered questions because I’d already plotted The Quest. In the first book, it’s more about her journey to discover her name and what she is. In finding out what she is, she learns about her parents. And her parents are connected to the person she discovers is responsible for murder. There’s a lot going on, but it’s easy to follow and sets up for The Quest.

I wanted everything revealed in The Quest and I believe I did just that. The person who stole her memories shows up and provides some truths. The news shocks her, but she continues with her pursuit for retribution. Her ex-lover surfaces and she has to figure out if she still loves him. And, as a bonus, her father makes an appearance. While there is quite a bit going on, the focus throughout the book is my character finding evidence to convict the person who murdered people and took so much from my character.

The Project Eve series was fun to write, but with so many details, I had to keep going back and making sure everything was in the right place. Initially, the book was longer. Yeah, imagine that. I had to chop it down without disrupting any of those important details. It wasn’t easy, but I made it work. My publisher has a great editing team, so they helped to ensure I had everything in order. Although there isn’t any more mystery to solve, I left the ending open in case I decide to write another book. I do enjoy the characters. Each one is special and unique to me.

If you’re in the market for an action-packed read, I encourage you to check into the Project Eve series.

About The Quest (Project Eve #2)

Retribution. At any cost.

Now that she knows her name and what she is, she wants justice for everything shes lost. Though her memories elude her, she takes a job for a half-demon Senator and, aided by werewolves from a local clan, intends to uncover evidence that will convict the Senator of more than thirty murders.

Getting to the Senator and finding the necessary evidence is more difficult than she anticipates, especially when there is a bounty for her death. If that were not enough, the vampire who stole her memories returns and reveals unexpected truths. But shes not going to let anything stop her. Not a sadistic assassin or a servant or Lucifer. Not even her ex-lover, the vampire God of the Underworld. Nothing will stop her from claiming retribution…even if the price is her life.

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

Amazon     B&N     Lyrical Press     iTunes     Kobo

About the Author

Outside of my government job, I write Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy. Dark and dangerous creatures are my friends. I create worlds with vampires, demons, werewolves, and other supernatural creatures. I even create new ones. How do I do this? I have a twisted mind and it gets better with wine.

Care to join me in my fantastical worlds? I’ll introduce you to my friends, and if they bite or corrupt your mind… it’s not my fault.

Website     Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter     LinkedIn     Blog

Giveaway

Win an e-copy of The Quest through this Rafflecopter. The giveaway ends on March 12, 2013.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

