Waiting on Wednesday #1: In Other Lands by Sarah Rees Brennan

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. I used to love reading other bloggers’ picks, so I’m going to participate here and there.

I missed the The Turn of the Story, Sarah Rees Brennan’s online novel, because I am slow and assume that the things online will be there forever. Thankfully, SRB will release the story as a novel called In Other Lands on August 15th! I have been a fan of hers since The Demon Lexicon and am looking forward to the quirky wit that will surely be in her latest book. And mermaids! I’m looking forward to them as well.

Here’s the cover and its Goodreads description:

In Other Lands

Sometimes it’s not the kid you expect who falls through to magicland, sometimes it’s . . . Elliott. He’s grumpy, nerdy, and appalled by both the dearth of technology and the levels of fitness involved in swinging swords around. He’s a little enchanted by the elves and mermaids. Despite his aversion to war, work, and most people (human or otherwise) he finds that two unlikely ideas, friendship and world peace, may actually be possible.

 

One comment

  1. I keep meaning to read a book by Sarah Rees Brennan since I always hear great things about her but I still haven’t gotten around to it. I think this would be a great place to start though. I love the mermaid aspect of it! There’s not nearly enough mermaid books in YA. Great pick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

